Getting into Gear

I finally ordered my barstools for the kitchen this past weekend and they came this week! I ordered them from Overstock.com and they were a much better deal than any where else I looked.  I had checked out some online at World Market, but their were indefinitely on backorder and there were some from Pier1 but they wanted $100 a piece for them.  I nabbed  these at $90 for the pair.

Added a pop of color to my kitchen!

Added a pop of color to my kitchen!

The shippers were being a little cheeky with the box.  I’m not sure how I was supposed to open it with a spoon or something dull.  I disobeyed their directions and used a knife, but very carefully.

photo (2)

All of Padme’s mortal enemies are red, well most, she is terrified of the green vacuum cleaner as well.

She was cowering behind the table when I took this picture.

She was cowering behind the table when I took this picture.

I started on a new project yesterday as well, the laundry room.  Here’s the before pic and many reasons why it needs redone.

ahhh the clutter!

ahhh the clutter!

 

My goal is to paint the room, install cabinets 2/3 across the wall where the shelves are and a tension rod for drying clothes on the other 1/3.   I want to paint the cabinets a bright color, like teal.  I’ll probably look for cabinets at the Habitat for Humanity ReStore.  They have building supplies and household materials that were either extra donated by builders or donated by homeowners that were renovating and wanted to donate their still-in-good shape pieces.  They have everything from doors, cabinets, light fixtures, etc.

This will also give me a reason to organize my recipes and cookbooks.  Here’s a sneak peak at the color.

It's a Tuscan texture finish left over from another project I did.

It’s a Tuscan texture finish left over from another project I did.

And last but not least, Padme is ready for football season.

Go Cats!

Go Cats!

One thought on “Getting into Gear

  1. Hey Sara – Jill and I visit a Habitat for Humanity ReStore in Topeka every now and then.
    We are always surprised what we find and the prices are minimal.

Leave a comment